Meet Our Judges

Each year, three judges score the dancers on a set of criteria. This is an important task and one that requires sharp attention and calm under pressure. We thank them for serving in this role.

The Mirrored Ball trophy is awarded based upon 50% on the judges’ score and 50% on votes earned from the audience. The Judges Award will be based on a preset of criteria.


Special Guest Judge – Andrew Salgado

Andrew is a Nashville based recording artist who won the 2013 Pepsi Southern Original Contest and is a Midwest born & raised original songwriter/singer/guitarist.  He has opened for Carrie Underwood,

Toby Keith, and the Eli Young Band. He has co-written with Darryl Worley, Brian Wilson/Kacey Musgraves, and currently had his first single (Dance On) off his Absolutely Everything debut album just pass the 300K view on YouTube.     Andrew has done extensive charity work and currently services as National Spokesperson for – a charity dedicated to helping youth understand the music industry and various career paths as well as providing an opportunity for them to interact with a touring artist which is why he will be in the UP area this fall.

Deb McPherson-Doyle

Debra McPherson is a Sault native, a 1970 graduate of Sault Area High School, and a 1974 and 83 graduate of Northern Michigan University where she majored in Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance and completed a masters in Educational Administration. She is retired from Lake Superior State University.

Deb Gardner

Deb has been the coach and math teacher at Sault Area High School for 21 years. She has given great opportunity to her students over the years by providing them a wonderful outlet for dance as the mentor and advisor for Sault High’s Pom Pon Squad. She leads her students with grace, humility and gentle guidance. Deb is a great contributor at Poms summer camp each year not only with her team, but she is interested in the growth of other teams and coaches alike. She serves as a mentor to all she has touched, always with positivity and kindness. Deb was honored in 2009 as she was inducted into the Badgerette Hall of Fame.